Poetry: ‘The Touch’.

Depression is here

I got my touch

The only hug I feel

I am feeling too much

 

The guilt takes over

Mistakes I make

A future I long to see

If I could only make it to daybreak

 

I lie down in my grave

Sweet sweet surrender

Watch over me my love

Please be my defender

 

Untethered feet

Tend to run

But my gaze always returns

For you are my sun

 

My uncontrolled voice

Taken by the dark

Scarred by unbound words

Always leave a mark

 

A war on my mind

Again and again

Survive minute by minute

Unable to explain

 

I chose to be different

I allowed love

Knowingly not deserving

I’m questioning God above

 

I ask Him why He is silent

Understanding it is me

I now allow the pain

Maybe life should just let me be

 

~ Becca ~

13 Comments Add yours

  1. gatheringlights says:

    Can relate. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Rebecca says:

      You are welcome 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Explore Life says:

    Wow! This is amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. E says:

    Beautiful description of the draining hurt. I called it war too. Hope you aren’t there now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      It comes and goes 😊. Yesterday it kind of hit me in the face! Today feels like a brand new day 😆. Thank you for your kind words.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I relate, feel as if all I’m hugging is a dark shadow. Sending love your way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Thank you so much 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Rob says:

    Yes! This is truly lovely. There is an odd comfort going within oneself and swimming in the pain. But there is a thrilling vivacity to embracing change, oneself in the face of tremendous adversity. And you are more deserving than you can right now imagine. But one day the sun will burn you so hotly, that you will wonder how you doubted it at all

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      I know how to get there now.

      Like

  6. yes once we embrace our pain……… life gets easier.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      It does indeed 😊 it makes it easier to fight!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. “I ask Him why He is silent”. Very powerful. I took it as the search for any hope, something greater than yourself to relieve you from the bondage of depression. Questioning God, whatever spiritual power, why they allow someone to experience this misery. Then you transition to the self-reliance you feel will keep your head above water, “Understanding it is me. I now allow the pain”.

    Beautiful work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Thank you for your kind words! 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

