Poetry: “The Roundup”.

I saw them disappear one by one
The beauty of people, the sparkles and the souls
Or the one shred of hope left behind
I could see the pain in their eyes which their lives controls
 
And I would wonder
What is this evil doing this, by what name does it go?
We are living wild and free but not as intended
For there is no longer a moral compass on which we bestow
 
I feared for my family, I feared for me
To live in a world without compassion and kind words
I feared my own words would disappear
With evil intent I closed off in nature and listened to the birds
 
Then it happened
The evil came and ignored my plea
I was so confused, I tried to run
Where is my family? Panic… run… run wild and free
 
But I too disappeared
My family must wonder, they must worry… I think of them oft
Where I once had forests and ran proud
I now cannot, I cannot move… I close my mind and fly aloft
 
After it took everything it continued to take more and more
My freedom, my family, my sense of belonging
It stripped me of me, everything I once felt
The evil hated me for being me and my little girl is still haunting
 
 
~ Becca ~
 

 

12 Comments Add yours

    1. Rebecca says:

      Thank you! How have you been?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve been good, what about you.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Rebecca says:

          A bit up and down 😊. But im getting out of my funk 😁

          Liked by 1 person

  1. This is brilliant. Feels Murakamiesque almost. Losing yourself to ‘the other side’ in the same plane, and always wondering how to get back to where and how you were, but the only way is through the storm, yourself. Love this so much! Well, what I got out of it at least 🙂 Awesome post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      You read it perfectly 😀 Thank you for your kind words!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Your welcome, thank you for the amazing poem! Keep it up 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Rob says:

    This is a powerful affirmation of the evil in this world and the wreckage it can leave it’s wake. I’d love to see your follow up poem on the triumphs of the indomitable spirit to live and thrive, i think you’d have something to inspire us with on that score😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Why thank you Rob. That is a very interesting idea for a follow up!

      Like

  3. Herbert Uba says:

    Hi, Becca. You have become quite the poignant writer. Dark and lovely! I’m also checking in to see how you doing. I realise I have a handful of your posts I haven’t read. Excited much!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Hi there 😀. Im trying to write more regularly again. Glad you like it 😏

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

