Poetry: “The Ghost I See”.

on

I am once again staring out the window

Snow falling from the skies

This winter gloom keeps beating me down

As my tears drop from my eyes

 

Where is the sun. Where are my rainbows?

They seem to have said goodbye

I don’t deserve anything other than the snow

The anguish takes hold and I imagine in a grave I lie

 

In my grave I look up to the heavens, still no God in sight

Snow is covering me as I slowly disappear

The coldness of it all makes my breathing choke

And once again it is death I do not fear

 

My grave was but a dream

I am still here staring out of the window

Snow is still falling down on the promise of spring

All of my moves my thoughts my words billow

 

This isn’t demons, this sorrow I speak of

It is loss of dreams and of hope

I no longer believe I deserve to rise above

So I run and run and run down this slope

 

I am now once again standing at the abyss

I scream in anguish at the emptiness

I peer over the edge and look down

As all my emotions I undress

 

What I see below is frightening indeed

I see me laying down, the abyss is my grave

The ghost which is me is staring up looking for my heart

Once again I feel like I have been hit by a cold wave

 

This abyss I keep visiting, will end up being the death of me

But the lure of lying down and going numb seems so sweet

The ghost which is me, this childlike girl staring up with big tortured eyes

Does she need to be saved or has she accepted defeat?

 

Or is she still looking for hope and dreams and rainbows?

Is she just simply resting and gaining strength?

Is she still seeking God and all of His Glory?

Or should I finally lie her tortured soul to rest?

 

~ Becca ~

8 Comments Add yours

    1. Rebecca says:

      Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Too much grave-fantasies…I love pictures by the way…how’s weekends? Busy or relax?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Hey you!! Weekend was ok…. neither busy nor relaxing and I got too little sleep! How was your weekend?

      And I find graves comforting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. What’s comforting with the graves? Haha it’s kinda cold there :/ I thought u r done with all that cold:))
        My weekend was busy. Mostly – choosing furniture. Just got back from the store now, ordered all for living room (3 sits sofa, 3 big chairs, 2 diff tables), for kitchen – new table & chairs in retro style; new bed for my working room (it will be kinda working – teenage – room- design). All furniture should come around 10 of June.
        Today was snowy & rainy & totally crazy cold weather lol +2C only 😶😱

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Rebecca says:

          Wauw you have been busy! That is a lot of shopping!!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Rob says:

    I’m so sorry I forgot this! Ya, there will be no laying in graves, etc. And rainbows fade away but not the sun! The sun will shine upon you brightly, always! And if it doesn’t, I’ll go see Apollo myself!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

