Poetry: “My Humanity”.

I have realized today

that I have lost my humanity

It is that which I have been seeking…

But what is humanity?

Do I have the right to bring others to their knees

just so I can find what I seek?

Or seek what I long?

Being human is everything

It is in God

I am aching for humanity

And I have failed today

I am left watching life go by

Through a window

Which is dirty and smudged up

Not even the life passing

Through this window is clear

To seek my humanity

To find my humanity

I need to go beyond this glass

This dirty and cracked window

Which will leave me scarred and stained

Even more than I already am

I haven’t lived for many many years

The love of a dog is not life

I thought that I had searched

But I realized that

All I’ve done is followed

But to truly seek

I need to open difficult doors

Doors which will bring others to their knees

It will crush

It will break

Do I have that right?

No one made me follow

It was of my own free but numb mind

My free but broken head

My free but lost spirit

My free but tortured soul

I do not break others lightly

I do not wish to bring them to their knees

But how I long for my mind to be free and not numb

My head to be free and not broken

My spirit to be free and not lost

My soul to be free and not tortured

Maybe it is there that one finds humanity?

In freedom?

For when you are truly free

You can truly open your eyes

 

~ Becca ~

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Herbert Uba says:

    Dark much…lovely still but if you were writing for therapy perhaps you should have added a little more color…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Ya…. I know what you mean. Some days don’t have any color. Or the situation that this is written about has no color. It is dark, adding color wont make it any lighter. It would almost be like making light of the situation.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Herbert Uba says:

        Alright, it was wrong of me to ask it of you. I guess I’m just worried that, if not done a little more carefully, writing may make things worse.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Rebecca says:

          It was not wrong of you at all! I always appreciate your input!!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Herbert Uba says:

            Alright. If you say so.😊

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Rob says:

    This shows how big a heart you truly have. At the end of the day, you are entitled to your life and how you want to live it. You are not responsible for others, you are responsible for yourself. Some things cannot be avoided. You have the right to be happy. Seems to me that others have not kept your happiness in mind as much as you are now full of angst keeping in mind theirs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoyed this but I wouldn’t call it dark as much bleak. I think that is the word I would use and the pure simplicity just adds to that tone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Thank you for reading!! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

