Poetry: “Unspoken Words”.

on

So much remains unspoken

As we keep on taking further steps

Words hanging in the air but not broken

I can almost see them floating around

Almost grab them and claim them as mine

Calmly inside my head, they don’t make a sound

I have words I do not speak

For it is not the right chapter in my book

I still have pages to turn, paragraphs to tweak

I have other words that are not yours, to write down

The words that belong to us are floating around in bubbles

I know they are there, so do you, just hanging around

Therein lies our spoken troubles

We have secrets that we long to tell

But to tell too soon would burst these bubbles

We would not be ready for anything to be bound

And our precious words that we held so dear,

would just simply fall to the ground

So we wait even though it might be clear as day

We wait even though the words are plain to see

We wait until we are ready to say

We wait and trust that someday we will be free

And speak of our secrets that we long to tell

So when the bubbles burst we can catch these words

Until there are no more unspoken words to fell

 

~ Becca ~

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Singledust says:

    Beautiful Becca! unspoken words afraid to come out – I resonate

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Thank you 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Rob says:

    I’m pretty sure we’ve covered this haha. But i will say this piece was incredibly meaningful on multiple levels. I concur and can fully understand and appreciate what you are saying!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Thank you Rob. The understanding means a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Herbert Uba says:

    I love the implicit positivity here. I like the optimism, the patience and the hole. I read this slowly. It felt right to read it this way and you guided me through the bubbles and everything. I lived in your poetry, Becca. I would like to think that if you make people do that, you are a great poet/writer.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Rebecca says:

      Thank you. It does indeed have optimism, albeit in a dreamlike situation. I have to break the reality to get to the dream.
      I never thought of myself as a great poet/writer. I am a painter at heart but am unable to find inspiration at the moment. So I am using words instead πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Herbert Uba says:

        Sure thing, and Oh, really? Painting is even more subtle, I think. Maybe you should share some of your painting sometimes.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Rebecca says:

          I should try to do that sometime πŸ™‚ I tend to hide my paintings away not wanting to see them. They are either up in the attic or hanging up on my parents walls πŸ™‚ (they are fans)

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Herbert Uba says:

            Oh, well…You don’t have to put them out there. It’s good to be selfish with a few things. I have stuff I just keep to myself too. I hope you send me one someday, though. My walls are pathetic.

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this β€οΈπŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚ It aint all dark & gloom lol!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ohhhwillow says:

    This is very rhythmic, without complication it has deep thought embedded into it – staying light, it lingers on the subject of what it is to translate our true inner selves. Nice write Becca πŸ”₯

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

