Poetry: “Once again”.

Once again I’m left standing here

Once again

I cannot keep on getting stomped on

Blamed on

Beaten on

Once again I am standing here

My heart being squeezed out of every emotion

Why do I allow it

What is it with my psyche that allows this

I need to turn the page

Any page

Find a new book

Instead of standing I need to walk

I need to run

I need to feel

I cannot keep on standing here

Why do I let emotions take the better of me

Who the fuck needs emotions?

I haven’t for many fucking years

Who the fuck needs a heart that can feel

Just to watch it get used

I watch

I stand still and do nothing

The heart gets fucked and the body watches on

I yell and scream for this body to intervene

I tell this body to eat, to run, to drive, to die

Anything better than being stomped on

Isn’t it?

The voice in my head says maybe not

The voice that tells me not to eat

The voice that tells me it is me

Once again I cannot breathe

 

~ Becca ~

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Herbert Uba says:

    Dark poem. Reminds me of the proverbial Mind-Body problem.😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Ya my mind can go dark very quickly…. but it also bounces back quickly 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Herbert Uba says:

    Whatever that means, I like it.😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

