Ode to my Dog.

 This is Raya.

She is perfect. Even with her imperfections.

 

Wherever I go, so does she.

For 11 years she has been in my life.

For 11 years she has comforted me through my troubles.

For 11 years she has filled me with love.

For 11 years she has loved me.

For 11 years I treasured every moment.

For 11 years now… and I am fully aware that we are running out of time.

Here she lies, sleeping next to me on the sofa.

Dreaming a dogs dream with all paws moving.

She is perfect.

How will I ever do this without her sleeping next to me on the sofa?

This is Raya.

She is perfect. Even with her imperfections.

She keeps me safe when I am scared.

She watches over me as she sleeps on the foot of my bed.

This is Raya.

She is perfect. Even with her imperfections.

When she is happy, I smile with her.

When she is hurt, I fix her pain.

When she needs help, I stop what I am doing and I help.

When I am sad, she comforts me.

She makes what I do possible. She makes the bad days good. She makes the good days fantastic. She makes the horrible days bearable. Through every move, through every fight, through every depression, through every tear, through every laugh, through every moment of joy, through every moment of peace, through every moment of serenity, through every nightmare, through every feeling of desperately wanting to run away, through all of the times that I wanted to scream at the top of my lungs, through all of the times I prayed for death, through all of the times my insides were screaming so hard it made me feel like I was going to burst, through all of the times I felt my heart break, through all of the times I felt my heart mend again. She was there. Depression has many faces and she has seen them all and helped me overcome. She has given me reason because her love deserves attention.

….. and we are running out of time. The possible will become impossible.

This is Raya.

She is perfect.

She is mine and I am hers.

I am hers and she is mine.

We are equal in love, in pain, in joy, in life.

I am proud to be her human. All of the mistakes I have made in the past… with Raya, I did it right.

She is perfect.

When you look into her eyes you can see her soul. Her character, her goofiness, her lust for life, her love, her mind, her cleverness. Her loyalty. I sometimes wonder what she sees when she looks back into my eyes. Does she see everything that I see? Would she also call me perfect? All I see in that connection is love.

She is perfect.

My Raya, my girl. All my love. We will live forever.

 

~ Becca ~

 

22 Comments Add yours

  1. Buffy Devane says:

    This is simply a beautiful ode, Becca.
    Very moving indeed. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Thank you Buffy! I love my Dog 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Buffy Devane says:

        🙂 You’re both lucky to have one another, I think!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Rebecca says:

          I’m the lucky one 😊 she is stuck with me 😆

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Buffy Devane says:

            Haha I’m sure that suits her just fine. 😉

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Rebecca says:

              Ya 🙂 I would like to think so! I always make sure she gets her food even though I dont eat 😉

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Buffy Devane says:

                You’re getting there. 🙂
                And it shows you have a big heart. 🙂

                Liked by 1 person

                1. Rebecca says:

                  Thank you Buffy 😊

                  Liked by 1 person

  2. Too beautiful ❤️❤️ 11 more years to the perfect 11yo-dog!!! 🤗🤗🤗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      That would be awesome. How old are your dogs??

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Rob says:

    A finer tribute to a pet has never been written that I read. It makes me happy to know that you have such a companion as she. Make a nice video of her so that you will always have her when you need her by your side.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kinkyacres says:

    Hi Rebecca, I have to agree with ROB! Reading it, I went to many places with the “friend” I had for 16 years.
    Rebecca, when staring into your “Raya’s eyes, imagine her say about you what you just wrote to Her! Bless YOU and RAYA!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Thank you Kinky! Dogs truly are special, aren’t they!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. kinkyacres says:

    Dogs are “truly” special as you said! Sadly, we do not give them the REAL credit they deserve!! Thank you again for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Absolutely beautiful. And your dog is beautiful. I hope she lives a long time and it is possible. Make sure she is getting yearly dentals or even x2 per year. Clean teeth helps prevent onset of heart disease, renal failure and also slow progression(in some cases of arthritis.) It does make a difference.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Boheme4ever says:

    What a moving tribute to your dog. She’s gorgeous and lucky to have you, as you are to have her. Love the nose close-up 🙂
    I used to have cats, but when I retire in a few years, I’ll be adopting a dog. In the meantime, I dog-sit my friend’s goofy pooch when she’s away.

    Your writing is touching, simple yet profound.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words 😊 pets brighten up our days

      Like

  8. awww ❤️ is all I can say. I’m speechless.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Yepp i love mh dog 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

