Poetry: “I Do Indeed Feel”.

I do indeed feel it.

This closing of a chapter

It does not leave me without hurt

It fuels all the its that were there before

I do indeed feel it!

I might be hungry

I might be empty

But not of that

Not of what was said which lingers in my mind

There were hands, there was touching

I do feel it.

On top of the hunger there is now a different pain

My heart is not empty

My heart is not black as coal

It is the emptiness beyond it that is

Not what was said and done

I feel.

I feel emotions and I feel pain

To say I do not feel, to call me cold

Is like telling me to never eat again

I have walls that go up into the sky so high

But no wall is unbreakable

There were cracks

There are cracks

It is flooding my world

At the same time it is letting in the sun

And this sun, it shines on me

As I sit here hungry and in pain

So do I fix this wall?

Or do I enjoy the sun?

I now know I can feel.

Beyond the emptiness and the hunger

I will enjoy the sun

 

~ Becca ~

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Buffy Devane says:

    Honest and well-written… with a good sense of bittersweet hope. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Thank you 😊 Hope can fill the empty!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Buffy Devane says:

        That is most true!
        And you’re welcome. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

