Poetry: “A Butterfly”.

on

I used to think I needed wings

To fly far away from all this anguish

A butterfly is what i’d be

Of course to fly has always remained but a wish

 

I have learned that even butterflies must perish

Their flight from all also ends

The life of a butterfly I will never endure

With reality I must make amends

 

I used to think I needed wings

But even a butterfly in all its glory will die

Its wings do not protect it from death

But what a way to go flying high up in the sky

 

I used to think I needed wings

A butterfly is what i’d be

Maybe if I try hard enough, spread my arms and jump

My death can feel glorious and I can be free

 

~ Becca ~

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Janet says:

    Love you Rebecca. Miss you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Life is short. Enjoy your day & food! Cuz my life span is from 5 to 14 days/ Butterfly 🦋

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Too melancholic :)) before #depression we called it #melancholy (black gall/bile). Even Freud wrote about it

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Haha but Ray, I AM depressed 😀 I’m trying to get it out of my system…..

      Liked by 1 person

      1. If I’ll tell to myself ‘I am depressed’, maybe I’ll be..lol but I cant & I don’t want, cuz I’m too busy with my life-purpose ✌️😂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Rebecca says:

          Ok…. I like your approach. I will stop calling it a depression…… I need to get my mojo back!!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Lol you can call it ‘melancholy’…it’s an interesting word 🙂 btw, we have to get back to Freud and his book about #M one day. Exceptional thoughts in this book!! Especially the way he is explaining why ppl r feeling melancholy (or depression) 😉✌️ maybe I’ll write about it next week…

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Rebecca says:

              Interesting topic to write about!

              Like

  4. Rob says:

    Butterflies come from catepillars, an evolution from a limited big to a soaring thing of beauty. All things are born and die, but flying in the middle is the best we can hope for. Uhm, but ya, it’s symbolic, not meant to be tried in actually

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      But for those few moments before you hit the ground it must be magnificent.

      Like

Leave a Reply

