The Stories: Part 4.

Fact number 4: “I have two parrots named Apple and Joey”.

I never thought I would end up with parrots…. I do not believe that these beautiful creatures should be in cages.

But there was Joey…. we found him! He was either let out by his previous owner who got sick of him or he escaped an no one bothered to look for him. But there he was, sitting by his lonesome self in the apple tree screaming his little heart out. He was starving and freezing. He had started pulling out his feathers, it is all he thought to do to try and make a nest (yes, I know, the irony, but he´s a bird, give him a break). He obviously wasn’t suppose to be outside by himself…. with his crimson reds and violet blue he would become cat food in no time.

I googled and found out he was an Australian species! In no way equipped for dealing with the Danish winter (that is where I was living at the time). So we started feeding him and soon he wouldn’t leave. If it was raining outside, he would stand in front of the window or door and scream to be let in but fear would always take over when we would open the door or window and off he would fly. He once stuck his cute little face through an open window and screamed murder.

So what was I to do; let him die or take him in? That is how I ended up with parrots… I could not let him die.

We put a cage outside in the hopes of saving him and it worked! He has been with us ever since. He is about 6 years old now and can reach an age of about 35. He loves playing, getting new toys, taking baths and eating. He is impulsive and will do things without thinking, which gets him into trouble.

But we knew he needed a companion. So I started looking into the bird market in Denmark. I was horrified. Parrots can have the intelligence of a toddler and here these birds were being passed around like they were object – to collect. ‘I have a blue one, you want to trade your yellow one?’. Birds were constantly being moved around, placed in cages with strangers, bullied, killed…. I was able to get one bird out – Apple. She is a sweet little girl who has never really learnt to trust 100%. She had seen a lot of ‘homes’ in her short life. Apple also loves playing but she is more reserved. She will let Joey try out new toys first and then go take them from him. She is the boss in their complicated relationship. She is a thinker (she´s a girl, so of course she is a thinker 🙂 ). And she sounds like a crow when she is angry, haha!

This story kind of shows how I feel about animals. To a big extent I see them as higher beings than people. And we ‘humans’ abuse them so. It breaks my heart. I will physically go after anyone who I see abusing animals. I will tear that person down. Beat them to a pulp. There are certain countries in this world I would never visit because of what they do to animals. Yes, every country is guilty BUT some ARE worse than others.

Once you see the soul in the eyes of an animal – any animal, you can never unsee it. And you will forever fight against animal cruelty.

 

~ Becca ~

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Herbert Uba says:

    Oh, I learnt new stuff from here. Never knew that parrots have such a long lifespan and never knew that they have interesting behaviors(I’m still skeptical about this one, though. Not sure if it’s more about them or your writing, story telling knack and the way you view things.) Unlike snow, I have seen parrots once or twice in my life, I think. If you had given us color pics of Joey and Apple, I just might have been persuaded to have one for myself someday.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Ya i was torn between the color pics and black and white…… But I really am trying to keep my blog in black and white…. Joey is blue and red, Apple is blue green and red. And they definitely have different characters. Even different tastes in music! Unless it’s all in my head 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Herbert Uba says:

        I think I like Apple more. What’s with the black and white preference, though? Some philosophical bias? Anyway, I’m sold over to Apple and Joey having distinct behaviors but I’m putting the tastes of music part on your head.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Rebecca says:

          Haha ok then…. The Black and white is kinda my mood at the moment

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Herbert Uba says:

            Awesome. Keep writing!

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Yesss, would def destroy that human if I’d see him/her abusing an animal of any kind. I had birds…only on my balcony (my mum would never allow any birds inside of the house). 2 Doves (eggs-> small doves-> grew up-> got back to me each year). It’s a beautiful poetical post 👏👏❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rob says:

    I love how you tell your stories. You are very entertaining, did you know that? Anyone who abused an animal should be abused in like kind. Same as all abusers, they should all be tortured and then sliced to bleed out. Dorry, got a bit carried away. Love this bird story. Just hope they don’t squawk 24/7 since they will be around so long heh heh

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Nah usually they are very sweet! But can bite till you bleed 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Rob says:

    Oh and I love your pictures. I admire your talent. One day I want to take pictures with a real camera and not my piece of shot Samsung phone lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Some of the pictures are taken with my Samsung phone 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

