The Stories: Part 3.

on

The third fact on my list is “I am an extremely stingy person and do not like to spend money – at all”.

I have not decided if this is a bad thing or a good thing…. any thoughts?

I come from a big family, I have 5 siblings. I was always wearing hand-me-downs from my sister. Now, I didn’t mind this – at all. What I did mind was hearing over and over again how there was no money to buy me new clothes (I know I am only a child but honestly, I am smarter than you so stop lying mom). Technically this was probably true.

But. BUT!

Maybe if my older sister and brother  did not get spoiled every day, maybe if they did not get brand clothes every week, maybe if they did not get extra pocket money, maybe if my mom wasn’t a binge shopper on useless crap (did we really need a top-of-the-line popcorn popper and candyfloss machine? And no, nothing on tv-shop will make you lose weight while sitting on the sofa so stop buying their crap)?

I know this makes me sound bitter BUT I really am not in the slightest bit bitter about this. It was just hard to understand when I was a kid. It just kind of reaffirmed my thoughts that my sister and brother were loved, the rest of us were leftovers. They were always seen…. while I was not with terrible consequences that followed. I always said that my parents should have stopped after 2 kids, cos they had no more love to give after that. I mean honestly, who in their right mind has 5 children before the age of 22?? But I guess in that exact same sentence lies the answer – my mother was a child raising children. It always was a disaster waiting to happen. At least they stopped procreating soon after.

But that is where I think my extreme control of money comes from. I do not spend money on worthless crap. I do not have 10 pairs of shoes, I do not have a zillion throw pillows on my bed (what the hell are those even for??), I do not even buy my clothes new (except my underwear, yes Rob, panties, and socks cos a girls got limits). I do not buy jewelry, I do not go to beauty salons, I do not even go to the hairdresser. I do not color my hair.

But I do have money in the bank.

My weaknesses for money are tools, thrift stores, paint and beads for jewelry making.

Today is my little brothers birthday so shout out to M who will never read this blog – HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! And you should be able to guess this after reading this post – I did not buy him a present (buy your own crap 😀 ).

 

~ Becca ~

 

25 Comments Add yours

  1. 1. It is BAD (😂) if you are Extremely stingy :)) …it’s a good thing to be economical tho 🙂 I’ll read further now. I’m at hairdresser ouch, she’s talking a lot 😄😄

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Rebecca says:

      Another issue I have with hairdressers – they never know when to shut up 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Yep. That’s why can’t write now lol

        Liked by 2 people

          1. She’s gone. I’m alone now :))

            Like

  2. Okayyyyyy…now we ALLLLLL WANNAAAA KNOWWWW HOW MUCH MONEY THERE???? Should we pack and visit ur bank?? 👋😉😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Haha you always make me laugh!! :D:D

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 5 kids…have to agree here. Can’t imagine tho, I think I never seen such huge families when I grew up. Some of my childhood-friends have 1 sibling (one-lol) and I remember they always were in some kind of fights because of clothes etc.. (I never had any good clothes anyway, only grandmas 😂😂 lol. Not much to fight about). About the love..I don’t know. You think if you are THE ONLY child u’ll get LOTS of love? Hm…no. My mum for example worked 2 jobs during 10 years (almost all my childhood, from 7 to 17yo). Normal job from 8:00 to 18:00 and then from 20:00 to 1:00am. When she had time to “love”? I don’t know. All we had was a Sunday when we went for food-shopping. So I don’t think love is given more often in the family with the one child only. Your parents were too young. Too stupid. It’s a good story tho, and lesson to learn.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      You bring such insight to the table. Thank you for that. Maybe I just wasn’t the kid my parents wanted… or maybe they were just too young. I think they tried to do what was right, they just didn’t always succeed.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, too many kids. Too young. Too stupid (for sure!! In 22!!) but what do I know? lol I was already divorced in 20yo (first time) 😂😂😂 #stupidtoo

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Rebecca says:

          I wouldn’t call that stupid, I would call that life lesson 😊

          Liked by 1 person

  4. What about cakes? :/ I mean don’t u spend money for chocolate and cakes? :/ only pizaaaaasss? Haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Haha, well…. you got me there. But I will only buy the cheap cakes and chocolate. I deserve snacks, I am a good girl.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I knew it!!! Choco-girl😬😬✌️👀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. yassy says:

    My parents discarded me after my brother was born, I couldn’t care less, at least it made me stronger independent , lol i spend a lot on books which i never read. I am a wild child so I hate the inside of a parlour. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Haha, so we have the wildness in common! And yes, it has also made me a strong independent person but it took me a long time to find my voice and who I as a person am. But that is not all on my parents though. Other stuff happened.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. yassy says:

        We are what we are because of all that piled up on us.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Rebecca says:

          Very true. And i would not change who I am.

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Rob says:

    I love your story. It is a wise story of not buying into consumerism, learned by your disdain for how you were treated as a child, but written in a funny way. You live with what you need, no more no less. Of course, I am tremendously pleased that you buy new panties. You never know when a pair or two might be ripped. By the way, it’s too bad folks aren’t commenting on your incredible eye for photography. You have a true gift. STILL waiting for pictures of your jewelry. Can you make me a spiritual necklace? Happy Birthday to your younger brother. I’m sure he’s used to getting nothing from you by now. Take good care of yourself!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Thank you Rob 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Janet says:

    Great story. I rarely buy new things myself. Waste of money. Not that I have much money, but even when I do… I LOVE used things. I feel a sense of a conquer when I get something wonderful for a few dollars. My biggest mistake is that when anyone compliments me on something I’ve purchased, my next reaction is OH THANK YOU! IT WAS ONLY A DOLLAR! lol. Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca says:

      Lol that really made me laugh! I do the same!!!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Rebecca says:

      And love you too 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

